Thorough and Unkempt
Everyday People
Pradeep Junior | Everyday People 114
0:00
-58:27

Pradeep Junior | Everyday People 114

A tattoo artist talks about crossfit and assertiveness

Write to the show: https://forms.gle/MCZZic3h6vTDXriF8
See the blog version: https://vaibhavguptawho.substack.com/p/pradeep-junior

Welcome to Everyday People, a show featuring the admirable people all around us. Here are your timestamps:

  • 00:00 What’s new with you, TxU?

  • 03:58 Everyday People w. Pradeep Junior

  • 45:20 Mailbag

  • 56:37 Letters to Myself

Thorough and Unkempt is a reader-supported publication. Thanks for becoming a free or paid subscriber!

What’s new with you, TxU?

This week’s blog:

Thorough and Unkempt
5 Guidelines To Make Your Best Work Easier
Now that my mental health has been good for a couple of months, I find myself with two key abilities for doing good work: I am able to work flexibly, e.g. the past three days I’ve been exhausted in the afternoons and slept, but I’ve been able to work at night…
Read more

Also, there’s a new Books of Zemera dropping this week, titled “The Mischievers in the Shadows”. Books of Zemera is my offering for paid subscribers: a growing library of short-form fiction set in my original fantasy world of Zemera.

Everyday People — Pradeep Junior

Pradeep Junior is a tattoo artist, a crossfit artist, an artisan and craftsman, and in general, a fantastic human being. His story of humble beginnings, teaching himself how to ink, and working with his hands, was a great insight into why his art is so beautiful. He did a tattoo for me on my left forearm, as well as my mom's first tattoo ever.

Quotes from the conversation:

Only a few quotes this week, sorry! 😅 Enjoy the podcast.

On becoming a tattoo artist:

I used to watch this show called Miami Ink when I was in High School. When I saw a tattoo being done, I was in awe. My jaw dropped.

At the age of 18, I was going to college in the morning, working in the evening, and barely getting sleep at night. This frustrated me. There was nothing left of me [when I came home]. I thought about tattoo a lot, and started googling tattoo artists in Bangalore.

I saw their work, and was impressed, but I told myself, “you know what? I’m not going to get a tattoo. I’m going to get a machine and do it myself.”

On his work-life balance and why he treats tattooing as a 9-5:

There was a time when I tattooed for 24 hours straight, back in 2014 or 2015. I went back home and slept for 3 days straight. I don’t have any memory of the next three days. I was tattooing a lot, 12 hours a day or more.

I thought, “why am I doing this?” I really like doing it. Well if I really like doing it, I should treat it like a 9-5 job. Simple as that. I do not want to think about this when I go home. That way, I would enslave myself to what I otherwise enjoy doing.”

On his values:

  1. Be assertive and don’t be recalcitrant. Be really good at what you do.

  2. Be open. I’m good at what I do because I work hard, and I welcome myself to other things.

  3. Don’t be jealous. I have a tattoo of a Hanya mask, a woman who was so jealous that she grew horns and became ugly. I never want to be Hanya.

Pradeep’s recs:

Astron Tattoos, his studio, is in Indiranagar, Bangalore.
Location: https://g.page/astrontattoosbangalore?share

Instagram: @el_chelso7

Mailbag

Write in to the show: https://forms.gle/MCZZic3h6vTDXriF8

Q1: Raksha - How do you stay consistent, Vaibhav?

My top tips:

  1. Make it easier.

  2. Be aware of invisible difficulty modifiers you’re adding.

  3. Even if you miss days or weeks, you don’t stop being consistent until you give up. Start again.

Q2: Bhavana - Hey Vaibhav, I'm thoroughly enjoying your new podcast, especially the recent episodes with Uttara and Urvi. I'm looking forward to the new episodes! My question for you is - what sparked your interest in writing, and when did you decide to pursue it professionally?

Thanks! I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

My interest in writing started with an interest in reading. My mom used to compete with my sister and I to read and that fostered a lifelong love of reading.

Then, when I wanted to start making my own stories, I started writing. I used to read the dictionary before English Language exams to find words to include in the essays. Then I started my blog after graduating from high school in April 2011. In college, I started earning a little money freelancing as a writer. Then I got placed from college as a tech writer in Oracle.

In 2016, when I joined Toastmasters, a senior asked me for help with editing their speech. I asked her why she’d want my help since I’m so junior, and she said - “Your English is so good. You should write a book.” And that resonated with me and made me realize that I work as a professional writer.

It made me realize that I stumbled into an adult version of a childhood dream, and since then I’ve called myself a writer. :)

Thorough and Unkempt is a reader-supported publication. Thanks for becoming a free or paid subscriber!

Letters to Myself

Hello Vaibhav,

I’ve been working out with a trainer for the last three weeks, and I can see changes to my body already. It’s wonderful.

Something strange happened yesterday though. It was a conditioning and cardio workout, something I’ve been averse to for years. While we were pushing, I started feeling the beginnings of an anxiety episode. At the end of a cardio exercise, I was panting, and it felt like I was about to start panicking.

But we’re used to working through anxiety now, after so many years of conscious practice. I was even able to push myself through a couple of extra rounds of cardio work, before calling it to a stop.

It was interesting though, to see that anxiety is never too far away. It also explains why I don’t like cardio - the heat and the heavy breathing feel the same as anxiety. I’ve been unconsciously pulling myself away from it as a defense mechanism, I realize.

Now that I know this, perhaps I’ll be able to improve my historically weak stamina. Actually stoked about it.

I look up to Bryan Danielson, not just as the quick-witted menace that he is, but that his skill and conditioning are so elite. Wrestlers have unbelievable stamina, and now with new information, maybe I can chase after my role models a little better.

Growth is just data, analysis, and persistence,
Vaibhav.

0 Comments
Thorough and Unkempt
Everyday People
Podcast Highlights on instagram.com/thoroughandunkempt